//
You're reading...
Is Tokyo Safe, Japan Nuclear Crisis, Tokyo Radiation Levels

Is Tokyo really safe in the middle of the Japan Nuclear Crisis?

The authorities seem to be giving us the good news that everything is normal in and around Tokyo and, for that matter, even at locations much closer to the Fukushima nuclear plant.

Is it really so?

As I look upon the early days of the crisis, I remember them telling us that everything was perfectly normal. That was in the first week after the disaster. And today, when you look at the data, you see that March 15th and 16th saw the worst days of radioactive radiations affecting Tokyo. It’s in the data for everyone to see.

Yes, they told us everything was fine. I believed them, and did not get out of the country immediately.

So I walked the streets as though everything was fine. They told us that winds will not blow south towards Tokyo. But as I walked, there was very heavy wind blowing in from the north. On the 16th, a day forecast to be sunny, rain clouds emerged out of nowhere and I had to run home lest I get rained upon by radioactive water.

They said everything was fine, but something told me that it wasn’t. And today, from the data I can see that I inhaled radioactive stuff that was unusually high, on the March 15th and 16th. Even the tap water had begun getting contaminated with radioactive materials, and I drank it. What the heck, my two year old kid drank it, and my pregnant wife drank it!! I wish I could sue them for this!

When I saw the dark clouds coming in from nowhere that day, and then disappearing equally fast because of the heavy winds from the north (which they said would not blow at all), I knew something was not quite right. So I trusted by instincts, and got myself and my family out of the country on the 17th.

Now, a month from that date, I see that things were bad back then, much worse than that they portrayed it to be.

What does that tell us? I believe 10 years down the line they will tell us that things were really bad in Tokyo, it’s just that they didn’t want to tell us how bad the numbers were back then, in order to avoid a panic situation and save the economy. And that would probably be let out when someone leaks some classified document from TEPCO’s vault or from the Government’s secret files.

But then, wouldn’t it be too late to do anything about it then? What you can do about is, is now! It’s now that you need to get your facts in place and take your decisions, whether to move out of the country or stay put. You don’t want to be picking a lottery that offers cancer for a prize to be awarded a few years later, would you?

I went out of the country (Tokyo), and now after a month I’m back. Does that mean that I feel things are safe and sound here? I don’t think so. So I started this site in an attempt to gather some facts and make up my mind on whether to continue to living in Tokyo or move out from here.

I welcome you all to contribute your opinions. I hope this site will open the eyes of some people who might be too blind to see the truth, or at least throw some light on some facts from the other end of the spectrum so that people living in and around Tokyo, especially foreigners and those who have an option to move out if required, to calculate their risks and take well-informed decisions.

Be Safe!

Your Nuclear Watchdog in Tokyo

About Tokyo Nuclear Watchdog

I'm a foreigner living in Tokyo, Japan, and I have been impacted by the Japan Nuclear Crisis of March 11, 2011. Though the impact of the massive earthquake that was followed by an even more disastrous tsunami, which led to the nuclear crisis, was not as disastrous in Tokyo as it was around the Fukushima Nuclear Plants, there has not been sufficient data to prove that Tokyo is safe from nuclear radiation as is being portrayed by the authorities. This site aims at erring on the side of safety while it keeps a close watch on the crisis and how it affects those residing in and around the Tokyo (Kanto) region. Remember that the proper truth about radiation may only come out 5 or 10 years later when a classified file gets leaked out, but that will be too late for you to do anything about it if you were in Tokyo and had been through those radiation then (which as of this writing, is NOW). Do not believe the media. Trust your instincts, and make your own well-informed decisions about your safety. This site is here to help you, and your contributions are most welcome.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow IsTokyoSafe on Twitter

Pages

